Alabama Statue of Limitations
Many states, including Alabama, have laws called “statutes of limitations” which limit the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit. For personal injury cases in Alabama, the injured person must file a lawsuit within two years of the date of her accident (See Ala. Code Sec. 6-2-38). If you wait longer than two years, your claim may be time-barred, and you could be unable to recover anything from the people responsible for your injury.
There are a few factors that can alter the statute of limitations for your lawsuit. If the injured person is a minor, then the 2-year time limit doesn’t begin to run until the child turns 19. If you plan to file a personal injury lawsuit against an agent or employee of a government municipality or county, the statute of limitations is shortened to under a year.
The statute of limitations could also be extended for extenuating circumstances. If you are unable to discover the injury within 2 years (maybe you were exposed to a toxin and developed a sickness 5 years later), then you may receive extra time to file a suit. The time might also be extended if you are disabled or incarcerated.
Statutes of limitations can be confusing but they’re undoubtedly important. The only way to know for sure how much time you have to file a lawsuit is to make an appointment with an attorney licensed to practice law in Alabama. Please call 205-324-1212 for a free and confidential consultation with the personal injury attorneys at our firm to make sure your claim isn’t time-barred.