It is difficult to believe that all states have not passed laws banning the use of handheld cell phones while driving. Many states have passed such laws – but Alabama is not one of them.
While it is against the law to text while driving, you can still hold a cell phone and talk while driving. However, for motorists under the age of 18, it is against the law to use a handheld device while driving, either to talk or text.
Underage talking or texting while driving is considered a traffic violation in the state of Alabama. The fines for breaking the law are $150-$350, and two demerit points on your driving record.
Alabama law also prohibits all drivers from using handheld devices for any text-based communication while driving a vehicle on a public street or highway. Such written communication includes: regular text messages, instant messages and email.
There are exceptions to the texting while driving ban such as:
-Using a wireless device while parked on the shoulder of a road
-Using a wireless device to call for emergency help
-Using a wireless device as GPS that has been pre-programmed
The fines for breaking the law in Alabama range from $25-$75, with two punitive points added to a driver’s record.
Sadly, many accidents are caused by texting and driving. If you cause a wreck and it is determined that you were texting, you may be charged with reckless driving. If you cause the death of another person while texting and driving, you may be charged with vehicular homicide.
The National Safety Council reports that 1 in 4 car accidents in the United States is caused by texting and driving. If you are involved in an accident and believe that texting and driving was a factor, you will want to contact an attorney who specializes in such accidents.
If you have legal questions, please consult our Online Legal Directory to find an attorney in your area.